Skip to main content Skip to footer


The Council for the Township of Algonquin Highlands is comprised of the Mayor and four Councillors representing three Wards, one of whom is elected by Council to serve as Deputy Mayor for the term. The Mayor and Deputy Mayor also serve as Councillors on the upper-tier Council for the County of Haliburton. 

Land Acknowledgement Statement

“We respectfully acknowledge that the Township of Algonquin Highlands is located on Treaty 20 Michi Saagiig territory, and in the traditional territory of the Michi Saagiig and Chippewa Nations, collectively known as the Williams Treaties First Nations, which are Curve Lake, Rama, Hiawatha, Alderville, Scugog Island, Beausoleil and Georgina Island First Nations. We acknowledge a historical shared presence of Indigenous nations throughout the area, and recognize its original, Indigenous inhabitants as the stewards of its lands and waters since time immemorial.”

Role of Council and Wards

The role of Council is to represent the public and to consider the well-being and best interests of the Municipality as a whole, for the long term. 

Council is responsible for developing and evaluating policies and programs for the municipality; evaluating the services which the Municipality provides; and ensuring the maintainance of the financial integrity of the municipality.

Councillors are governors, not managers. They have no involvement in day-to-day operations and don't direct staff. They do, however, make decisions at Council meetings that provide direction to staff through the Chief Administrative Officer (CAO), who is the manager of the corporation. Council ensures the administrative policies, practices and procedures of the corporation provide for accountability and transparency.

Councillors make decisons as a group in scheduled, public Council meetings. While the Mayor has additional duties under the Municipal Act, provides leadership, and acts as the Chair of Council meetings, he or she has only one of the votes at the Council table.

The Mayor is elected by voters across the entire municipality. The Deputy Mayor is elected from among Councillors at the first meeting of the term. 

There are three electoral wards in the Township of Algonquin Highlands. Ward 1 is comprised of the former Township of Sherborne, and includes part of Dorset. Ward 2 includes the former Township of Stanhope. Ward 3 is comprised of the former Townships of McClintock, Livingstone, Lawrence & Nightingale.Image shows electoral ward map for the Township of Algonquin Highlands.

Image shows the headshot of a woman against a natural backdrop.

Mayor Liz Danielsen


Committee of Adjustment, Community Policing Advisory Committee, Haliburton County Library Board

Mayor Liz Danielsen was first elected in 2010 and served as a Ward 2 Councillor and Deputy Mayor for three terms, before being elected Mayor in the fall of 2022. Mayor Danielsen is also Warden of the County of Haliburton for 2023. 

Image shows headshot of a woman against a natural backdrop.

Deputy Mayor Jennifer Dailloux

Ward 3
McClintock, Livingstone, Lawrence & Nightingale

Cultural Plan Working Group, Haliburton County Library Board, Lake Simcoe Region Conservation Authority, Haliburton County Library Board 

Deputy Mayor Dailloux was first elected as Ward 3 Councillor in the 2018 election and became Deputy Mayor in 2022. 

Image shows headshot of a woman against a natural backdrop.

Councillor Julia Shortreed  

Ward 1, Sherborne

Algonquin Highlands Recreation Committee, Dorset Heritage Museum Committee, Dorset Community Partnership, Dorset Health Hub, Lake of Bays Economic Development Committee 

Councillor Shortreed was first elected in 2018. 

Image shows headshot of a woman against a natural backdrop.

Councillor Lisa Barry

Ward 2, Stanhope

Cultural Plan Working Group, Dorset Heritage Museum Committee, Stanhope Heritage Museum Committee 

Councillor Barry was first elected in Ward 2 in 2010. 

Image shows headshot of a woman against a natural backdrop.

Councillor Sabrina Richards

Ward 2, Stanhope

Algonquin Highlands Recreation Committee, Committee of Adjustment, Stanhope Heritage Museum Committee, Muskoka Watershed Council, Upper Trent Water Management Partnership Council 

Councillor Richards was first elected in the fall of 2022. 

Sign up for News and Notices!

Keep up to date with everything happening in Algonquin Highlands by receiving regular updates to your inbox!

This website uses cookies to enhance usability and provide you with a more personal experience. By using this website, you agree to our use of cookies as explained in our Privacy Policy.