Have your say, vote! Algonquin Highlands Municipal and School Board Elections 2022, October 24, 2022.

Information for Candidates

The next municipal election to elect a mayor, ward councillors, and school board trustees will be held on Monday, October 24, 2022.

Key Dates for Candidates:

Nomination Period:

May 2, 2022 - August 19, 2022

Nomination Day:

August 19, 2022

Nominations can be filed during regular Township of Algonquin Highlands municipal office hours (8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m.) from May 2, 2022 to August 18, 2022

Nominations can be filed on Nomination Day (August 19, 2022) only between 9:00 a.m. and 2:00 p.m.

2022 Candidates’ Guide (link opens in new window)


A new requirement under the Municipal Elections Act (MEA) requires anyone wishing to run for office as a member of Council (excluding school board trustees) must submit signatures of 25 eligible voters (on the prescribed form) in Algonquin Highlands supporting their nomination to run for office. The 25 signatures must be on the prescribed Form 2 below.

Anyone providing an endorsement signature must be eligible to vote in the municipality on the day that they signed the endorsement. In addition to their endorsement, they will also be required to sign a declaration that they are eligible to vote in the municipality.

A person who is eligible to vote in the municipality may provide endorsements to as many candidates as they choose and may endorse candidates for any office on the municipal council. A person who is running for a ward councilor office may submit signatures from voters who do not live in that ward.

If you submit 25 endorsement signatures and find out later that a person (or persons) was not eligible to vote on the day that they signed the endorsement, you will not lose your nomination. The person who supplied false information (by declaring that they were eligible to endorse your nomination when they were not eligible) could be subject to prosecution.

This section to be updated as nominations are filed after May 2, 2022.


                                                                    TOWNSHIP OF ALGONQUIN HIGHLANDS

                                    UNOFFICIAL LIST OF CANDIDATES 



Contact Number(s)

Email and/or website       

Liz Danielsen Mayor

17449 Highway 35

Algonquin Highlands, ON

K0M 1J2

705-489-3907 ocean23@sympatico.ca  
Mike Lang Mayor 







Jennifer Dailloux Councillor Ward 3

1138 Tom Parris Trail 

Algonquin Highlands, ON

P0A 1H0




Lisa Barry  Councillor Ward 2

1706 Barry Line 

Algonquin Highlands, ON

K0M 1J1

705-754-0758 saltypotter@hotmail.com  
Julia Shortreed  Councillor Ward 1     juliarashortreed@gmail.com  
Gary Brohman 

Trustee, English 

Language School Board

1155 Grass Lake Road

Dysart et al, ON 

K0M 1S0




As of June 7, 2022. 

A person is qualified to be elected or hold office, who, as of the day he or she files his or her nomination is:

  • Entitled to be an elector under MEA, s.17
  • Is a Canadian citizen;
  • Is at least 18 years of age;
  • Resides in the local municipality, or is the owner or tenant of land in the local municipality, or the spouse of such a person; and Is not prohibited from voting as noted or otherwise, by law.
  • Not disqualified for violation of financial requirements or violations of requirements for filing financial information.
  • Not disqualified by any Act from holding such office. Not disqualified under the provisions as outlined in MEA s.90(2) and 91(1).

The following persons are disqualified:

  • Except in accordance with MEA, s.30 (Leave of Absence), an employee of the municipality or a person who is not an employed of the municipality, but who is the Clerk, Treasurer, Integrity Commissioner, Auditor General, Ombudsman or registrar referred to in s.223.11 of the Municipal Act or an investigator referred to in s.239.2(1) of the municipality or a person who is not an employee of the municipality, but who holds any administrative position of the municipality.
  • A judge of any court.
  • A Senator, a Member of Parliament, a Member of Provincial Parliament.
  • A person who is serving a sentence of imprisonment in a penal or correctional institution, including a sentence being served in the evening or on weekends (this does not include a person serving a sentence at home).
  • A Corporation.
  • A person acting as executor or trustee or in any other representative capacity.
  • A person who was convicted of the corrupt practices described in MEA, s.90(3) if Voting Day in the current election is less than 5 years after Voting Day in the election in respect of which he or she was convicted.
  • A person disqualified for violations of financial requirements or violations of requirements for filing financial information.

Nominations may be made by completing and filing in the office of the Clerk nominations on the prescribed form and accompanied by acceptable identification, with the declaration by at least 25 persons (on the prescribed form) and the prescribed nomination filing fee of $200 for the Head of Council and $100 for all other offices. The declaration for 25 persons is not applicable to school board candidates.

The filing fee is payable by cash, debit, certified cheque, bank draft or money order. A nomination must be signed by the candidate and may be filed in person or by an agent by appointment only during regular business hours (8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. weekends and Statutory Holidays excluded) beginning on Monday, May 2, 2022 through to Thursday, August 18, 2022 and between 9:00 a.m. and 2:00 p.m. on Friday, August 19, 2022 (Nomination Day).

Please contact the Clerk to confirm acceptable identification. Identification must be valid and contain the candidate’s name, qualifying address and signature. NOTE: Identification that requires the person to “write in” an address is not acceptable identification (e.g. Canadian Passport).

If a candidate wishes to withdraw completely, the candidate must file a written withdrawal of their candidacy, by no later than 2:00 p.m. on August 19, 2022 (Nomination Day) in the Clerk's Office. Any withdrawals sent by mail, email or fax are not permitted, as it must be filed in the Clerk's Office.